Wanderlustress

Life in Laos through the lens of a diplomatic wife raising twin toddlers.

Weekly Photo Challenge: Arranged – USA


Crayons arranged in a tidy row.

As a mother of twins I can speak from two and a half years of experience about nature vs. nurture. I’ve watched two children born of the same womb, raised and nurtured in exactly the same manner, form into two completely different human beings. One trait passed down from me to my daughter is an exacting tendency to be very precise. In this photo, she is taking crayons one-by-one and arranging them next to each other in a straight row, taking pains to adjust each one so that they are as level with the other as possible. For a two-year old, this takes quite some time to do and I have a video to prove it. On the other hand, my son can concentrate on how the wheels of a toy car works for a surprisingly long stretch, but he has nothing to do with putting things away or how they are arranged. In fact, he prefers to throw everything into the air and leave things where they land. We definitely did not nurture him to do this!

See my other Weekly Photo Challenge submissions:

Weekly Photo Challenge: Contrast – Uzbekistan

Weekly Photo Challenge: Unusual – Uzbekistan

Weekly Photo Challenge: Through – Turkey

To add your own photo to the challenge, visit WordPress Daily Post. Have fun!

Follow me on Facebook:
Wanderlustress | Promote Your Page Too

15 comments on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Arranged – USA

  1. Naomi Baltuck
    June 7, 2012

    I am a twin, and I know you must have your hands full! Crayons help!

    • Wanderlustress
      June 7, 2012

      Oh wow! Are you an identical or fraternal twin?

      • Naomi Baltuck
        June 7, 2012

        I have a twin brother–definitely not identical! We were Number 5 and 6 of 7 children, but I don’t know how anyone could manage with twins. I had my two kids four years apart, and that was just about right for me! Best wishes, Naomi

  2. The Feists Great Escape
    April 2, 2012

    The beginning of why men are from Mars and women are from Venus?

  3. lidipiri
    April 2, 2012

    I can almost “see” your daughter arranging those crayons. So sweet.
    Your little boy has the male gene for sure… most boys are not known to be very neat. (Sorry for stereotyping.) :)
    Enjoyed your photo!

    • Wanderlustress
      April 2, 2012

      Thanks Lidia. I think the stereotype is 99% true which makes it practically a fact!

  4. ruralrouterunner
    April 1, 2012

    This is so true – twins can be so different! I think the only thing I have in common with my twin is the same birthday.

  5. SanVar
    March 31, 2012

    Thats soo cute and original :)

    • Wanderlustress
      April 1, 2012

      Thanks for stopping by! I’m glad you enjoyed the photo. I really like the weekly photo challenge. It makes me think and stretch my imagination to make the photos fit the theme and vice versa.

  6. dadirri7
    March 31, 2012

    lovely photo … and isn’t it wonderful how siblings and twins can be so different, being themselves! christine at http://imagesoftheheart.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 31, 2012 by in USA, Weekly Photo Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , .

Join 3,196 other followers

Blog Stats:

  • 42,438 hits

You can also find me at:

