Wanderlustress

Life in Laos through the lens of a diplomatic wife raising twin toddlers.

Weekly Photo Challenge: Two Subjects – USA

My 1.5-year old son and the Denver Airport control tower.

Born into a life of world-wide travel with their diplomat father and wanderlust mother, our two-year old twins got an early start in air travel. They flew down to live in Mexico where their father was working when they were six-weeks old, and they have been on many flights since then.

As a pretty seasoned traveler, I’m surprised at how anxious I get every time we fly with the kids. I guess it’s because of their unpredictable nature, both of the kids and flight delays. For the most part, the kids have been great travelers except for one flight where my son kicked and screamed for two hours straight and there was nothing I could do. The flight attendant was kind enough to take him from me so I could have a break and give him a distraction. When that didn’t work, a fellow passenger offered to show him her caged dog below her seat. That didn’t work either so I just started to cry right along with him. My lovely seatmate also cried with me, patting me on the shoulder telling me repeatedly that I was a good mother. My son and I were so exhausted after two hours that he slid away from me onto the floor and immediately fell asleep. I didn’t dare pick him up in case I woke him and not surprisingly neither did the flight attendants who casually ignored him on their landing checks (thank goodness). As we waited at the luggage carousel many of my fellow passengers came by with some very kind words. I was touched and mostly relieved that my worse travel nightmare with my children revealed the kinder side of humanity and not the other way around as I had feared.

Sure I’m scarred from the experience and am already starting to get anxious about our 36-hour journey to Laos in three months.

But at least I know that whatever difficult ordeal we may have to face along the way that we’ll probably be among kind and understanding people. I hope.

See my other Weekly Photo Challenge submissions:

Weekly Photo Challenge: Contrast – Uzbekistan

Weekly Photo Challenge: Unusual – Uzbekistan

Weekly Photo Challenge: Through – Turkey

Weekly Photo Challenge: Arranged – USA

Weekly Photo Challenge: Journey – Namibia

To add your own photo to the challenge, visit WordPress Daily Post. Have fun!

Follow me on Facebook:
Wanderlustress | Promote Your Page Too

19 comments on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Two Subjects – USA

  1. Arindam
    April 18, 2012

    It’s a really beautiful picture. May be one of my most favorite for this week’s challenge. It’s one of those priceless moments in life and you capture this moment so beautifully. Great post. :)

    • Wanderlustress
      April 18, 2012

      Thank you so much for your kind words! I’m glad you enjoyed it.

  2. mamacravings
    April 17, 2012

    What a precious picture!

    I am so glad that you had a good experience of humanity when you’re little one was acting…well, human. It is so comforting to find that people take a moment to lift you up after a difficult situation.
    Warm wishes for your upcoming travel! :)

    • Wanderlustress
      April 17, 2012

      Thank you mamacravings. Oh how I wish we could have an extra body to come along with us!

  3. Sarah
    April 16, 2012

    Kudos to the moms out there!

  4. Shannon Hadley
    April 15, 2012

    This is probably my favorite so far for this challenge. Great shot!

  5. Amar Naik
    April 15, 2012
  6. The Retiring Sort
    April 15, 2012

    great pic!

    • Wanderlustress
      April 17, 2012

      Thank you! I had to edit it a lot for the final image. If it weren’t for the photo challenge I would have never thought twice about this picture.

  7. shambolicliving
    April 15, 2012

    The joys of motherhood!!

  8. ritarivera
    April 15, 2012

    very cool, nice shot! (good ad for United too!) – rita

    http://shapingthepoem.wordpress.com/

    • Wanderlustress
      April 17, 2012

      Hey, you’re right about an ad for United. Thanks!

      • ritarivera
        April 17, 2012

        you’re welcome! :-) – rita

  9. island traveler
    April 15, 2012

    That is one adorable picture. Priceless moments.

    • Wanderlustress
      April 17, 2012

      Thank you. My favorite photos ever are ones of my kids (cliche I know). I can stare at them forever.

Leave a Reply

Join 3,196 other followers

Blog Stats:

  • 42,470 hits

You can also find me at:

