Wanderlustress

Life in Laos through the lens of a diplomatic wife raising twin toddlers.

Textures at Haw Phra Kaew

Sightseeing with toddlers doesn’t allow for any contemplative time at all when visiting historical sights. As I crane to eavesdrop on the guides lecturing to a tour-group, my eyes are quickly scanning for some worthy photography while my arms are being dragged by one little person who wants to go home and another who wants to sit down for a snack.

All the while, my mind knows that it’s failed to do enough research on how the Emerald Buddha used to be here in Haw Phra Kaew and why it’s currently at the Grand Palace in Bangkok, Thailand. I’m not a history buff at all yet there is so much that I want to know. Like why after it’s destruction from the Thai invasion in the late 1800’s was this structure rebuilt modeled on the Bangkok racocco style, which I love. It is a much more rustic look and not gilded and showy like most other Lao temples. It’s beauty doesn’t scream at you to admire. Rather, it begs you to look closer at it’s details and textures.

I’m not sure what I would do as a wanderlust with toddlers if I didn’t also love taking pictures. At least I have the time now after they’ve gone to bed to appreciate places that we’ve visited. I can reflect and edit and zoom in on all the things I wished I could have stopped to admire longer while we were there. I guess it’s my own way of having both worlds.

Lately, I find myself accepting more and more the pace, rigor, and fun that is traveling with our children. It might be less about the places we visit and the photos we take, and more about the fulfillment of discovering new things together as a family. I wouldn’t change a thing right now and I’m really excited for what’s to come!

Follow me on Facebook:
Wanderlustress | Promote Your Page Too

5 comments on “Textures at Haw Phra Kaew

  1. Ana Gaby
    October 22, 2012

    I love the pics! I haven’t been able to get any good pics since Josh started riding with my in his carrier! He loves to grab the lens and stick his fingers everywhere! I love holding him though. Evan never let me carry him for more than a few minutes.

  2. continentalcajuns
    October 21, 2012

    What amazing photos!

  3. thesophiastandard
    October 18, 2012

    Love your blog and these photos in black & white. Traveling with little ones is challenging but more rewarding than words can do justice.

  4. arranqhenderson
    October 16, 2012

    Great pictures, beautiful textures.

  5. Dani
    October 15, 2012

    these photos are absolutely gorgeous and I hear you on the sightseeing with kids and taking photos. Basically I click, click, click, try to keep WIll from diving into fountains and then when we go home I edit photos and wikipedia the heck out of wherever we’ve just been. Sometimes I feel sort of like a cheater using this method but, honestly, I”m probably learning just as much as I would from the sometimes wonky signage at all of these places! :)

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 15, 2012 by in Laos and tagged , , , , , , .

Join 3,195 other followers

Blog Stats:

  • 42,802 hits

You can also find me at:

