Wanderlustress

Life in Laos through the lens of a diplomatic wife raising twin toddlers.

Good Busy

Where have we been, you ask? Over two weeks and no posts. Barely a peep on facebook neither. Wow.

Well…for those of you who thought we might have succumbed to Dengue Fever we are all fine and healthy, except for persistent coughs and runny noses for the kids and some chest congestion for my husband. Some say it’s allergy season exacerbated by the dry dust from lack of rain. Oh how I miss the rain. I had thought it would be persistently humid here with constant rain, and just more of it all during the rainy season but no. When it’s not the rainy season here it doesn’t rain at all and everything is dry and extremely dusty.

Back to what we’ve been up to. I haven’t much to show and tell, only that life got good busy. Our car finally arrived and I’ve embrace my new found freedom by going out. A lot. And we received our first visitor although strangely enough she wasn’t really much into exploring or playing tourist or heading out to Vang Vieng or Luang Prabang (a great miss as you will see from our recent trip there), despite my encouragement and persistence. So she spent a week here with us tagging along on our daily routine of taking the kids to and from school, going to the market, and treating the kids to a night out for ice cream as a highlight in the week. The kids loved having a visitor and the three of them had a lot of fun together. I did manage to take our friend to the silk market to get some material for my friend to make her a gown for a Marine Ball she has to attend next month. She also enjoyed going to the French Clinic for some health and dental needs, something the uninsured appreciates when overseas I guess. Let’s just call her visit an expat home-stay and medical tourism. I sure hope our next guests will be slightly more inspired.

I also started an on-line course two weeks ago which I was excited about but interest in the readings and homework has been shadowed by many of the other life happenings (including a trip to Luang Prabang! can you tell I can’t wait to post about that?!) and my mind hasn’t been reawakened yet by the intellectual stimulation. My brain has apparently gone to mush and tends towards frequent random musings about everything else other than the topic of participatory monitoring and evaluation of development projects (oh yeah, wasn’t there a job I wanted to get somewhere during our move here to Laos?). Must reignite my inspiration somehow.

And basically, we’ve been having fun. On a spur of the moment I decided that my husband and I would attend a gala…oooooh… sounds so glamorous, doesn’t it? Not really. It was a fundraising gala put on by the student council of an international school at one of the hotels here in Vientiane. The theme was Elegance in Black & White so we dusted off our finest moth eaten threads and joined our embassy friends for a much needed date night. Most of the evening felt like a prom for adults chaperoned by teenagers. Nevertheless, it was fun to get all dress up and be out among adults.

I’ll leave it here with some recent pictures before I start getting into the really mundane excuses for not blogging. If I’m going to continue on this blogging slump then I’ll be sure to make more frequent photo posts to facebook. But next up, our trip to Luang Prabang and the magical festivities of the end of Buddhist Lent!

Have a great weekend everyone!

 

Follow me on Facebook:
Wanderlustress | Promote Your Page Too

7 comments on “Good Busy

  1. Dani
    November 3, 2012

    I love the picture of you guys walking holding the kids hands, that is just beautiful! Glad you are having one of those good-busy times! They are the best. Can’t wait to hear about the traveling too!! Who is your course through?

    • Wanderlustress
      November 3, 2012

      Thanks Dani! I wish I had the nearly full moon (upper left) in the frame but I shot quickly before the cars got too close and throw off the lighting. Also wish that it was me in the picture holding M’s hand but that’s life behind the lens, sigh.

    • Wanderlustress
      November 3, 2012

      Forgot to tell you that the course is through Colorado State University. It was the only development studies program I could find that offers a certificate course entirely on-line, with no time required on campus. I manage to get the FLO Professional Development Fellowship to fund it. What a great resource from State!

  2. cravesadventure
    November 2, 2012

    Your two little ones sharing – PRICELESS! Happy Friday!

    • Wanderlustress
      November 3, 2012

      Yes, it needed to be captured since it is a rare and fleeting moment. But more and more we are starting to experience the two of them playing (nicely) together and sharing more, thank goodness!

  3. www.cleanbirth.org
    November 2, 2012

    Great post! Glad to see hear about your car-inspired freedom! Looking forward to the post about LP.

    • Wanderlustress
      November 3, 2012

      It is so great to be able to go wherever I want to and whenever I want to, except for lack of parking in Vientiane!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 2, 2012 by in Laos and tagged , , , .

Join 3,198 other followers

Blog Stats:

  • 42,191 hits

You can also find me at:

