Wanderlustress

Life in Laos through the lens of a diplomatic wife raising twin toddlers.

Weekly Photo Challenge: Through – Turkey

Istanbul is one of my favorite cities in the world and I am lucky to have a friend who lives there that lets me sleep on her couch when I visit. The first time I went to Turkey I went by myself and spent a month mostly hanging out on my friend’s balcony drinking wine, eating great food, and listening to sounds of neighbors and the call to prayer. Of course we ventured out to see some sights like the famous Hagia Sophia where this photo was taken. It’s difficult to avoid a crowd here and harder still to take photos of the stunning interior without having a tourist in your frame. However, I admired the metal work of the upper level railing enough to take this shot despite the crowd congregating below.

The beauty of the Hagia Sophia still comes through despite the crowd around you, in front of you, or through your frame.

See my other Weekly Photo Challenge submissions:

Weekly Photo Challenge: Contrast – Uzbekistan

Weekly Photo Challenge: Unusual – Uzbekistan

To add your own photo to the challenge, visit WordPress Daily Post. Have fun!

Follow me on Facebook:
Wanderlustress | Promote Your Page Too

14 comments on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Through – Turkey

  1. Arindam
    March 29, 2012

    This one is an interesting photograph. It’s quite a unique, yet wonderful interpretation of this week’s theme. Great work with this post.

  2. Pingback: Istanbul Dreams « Wanderlustress

  3. lidipiri
    March 26, 2012

    How very creative and cool!!!
    I loved Istanbul as well. The food was wonderful and I had the best of times just walking, getting lost and discovering.
    The call to prayer was a constant that I actually looked forward to. A bit startling at first, then a reminder of where you are, then a time to reflect on its culture.

    Thank you for bringing me memories and such a clever and unique way of seeing Hagia Sophia!

    • Wanderlustress
      March 26, 2012

      I remember one particular moment well while standing on the Galata bridge one evening when the call to prayer sounded from all the surrounding mosques. It was magical!

  4. mamawearpapashirt
    March 25, 2012

    That’s an interesting shot/frame! Hagia Sophia is beautiful. Was there a couple years back during our honeymoon. Thanks for your comment over at WMB btw πŸ™‚

    • Wanderlustress
      March 26, 2012

      What a great honeymoon destination! Great to meet you on WMB. I have a post coming up this Thurs. It’s such a great community.

      • mamawearpapashirt
        March 26, 2012

        Great, I’ll definitely keep a lookout for that. Have a great week! πŸ™‚

  5. Colline
    March 24, 2012

    This is such an unusual view.

  6. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Contrast – Uzbekistan « Wanderlustress

  7. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Unusual – Uzbekistan « Wanderlustress

  8. Jeremy Gradney
    March 24, 2012

    I love Turkey. I have been there three times and still crave the food. Thanks for sharing.

    • Wanderlustress
      March 24, 2012

      Ahh the food in Turkey is delicious! Thanks for visiting Jeremy.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 24, 2012 by in Turkey, Weekly Photo Challenge and tagged , , , , , .

Join 3,160 other followers

Blog Stats:

  • 56,634 hits

You can also find me at:

