Wanderlustress

Life in Laos through the lens of a diplomatic wife raising twin toddlers.

When I Feel Landlocked

Cape Point, South Africa

For some reason I’ve been feeling landlocked lately and I so badly want to dive into this photo and envelope myself in the vastness of the open water and stretch into the full expanse of the sky and lose myself in the swirling clouds. I read this as a sign of readiness for change, of shifting into the new possibilities ahead of me. It feels good.

Follow me on Facebook:
Wanderlustress | Promote Your Page Too

13 comments on “When I Feel Landlocked

  1. Tas
    November 3, 2012

    Cape Town is my home! As soon as saw South Africa under the list of Countries you had been too, I had to click on you see! πŸ™‚ I head back for a visit this November! Great blog, glad you got to some water!

  2. Madhu
    May 12, 2012

    Stunning photo! Laos sounds fun. And you will be close to so many wonderful places begging to be explored! We are considering a couple of nights at Luang Prabang on our way to Cambodia later this year.

    • Wanderlustress
      May 15, 2012

      What exciting plans Madhu! Let me know if you will be going through Vientiane on your way to LP, which is an absolute must see. I can’t wait to visit there myself.

  3. Elena
    May 11, 2012

    gorgeous !!

    • Wanderlustress
      May 15, 2012

      Thank you Elena! The Cape Town region of South Africa is stunning.

  4. Beautiful photo! I’d love to travel more myself but haven’t been able to do so. Hope you get to enjoy the water soon πŸ™‚

    • Wanderlustress
      May 10, 2012

      The waters of our family’s new adventures in Laos will begin in late July (even though it’s really a landlocked country ;). Can’t wait!

  5. allthingsboys
    May 9, 2012

    Also, Still thinking on those camel spiders–have you looked up what exotic creatures to expect there? I’m now suffering from a morbid curiosity about what exactly you’ll encounter when you travel! πŸ™‚

    • Wanderlustress
      May 10, 2012

      I’m afraid to ask! Will just have to wait and be surprised, although I already know there will be Huntsman and other huge spiders, snakes, scorpions, centipedes and a lot of mosquitoes.

  6. allthingsboys
    May 9, 2012

    When do you leave? And how are the language lessons going? πŸ™‚

    • Wanderlustress
      May 10, 2012

      We leave DC end of June but won’t arrive in Vientiane until late July. I’ve extended my language training so I’m at a pretty comfortable level now and won’t have too big of a gap before I get to Laos to forget it all!

  7. Le Fabulist
    May 9, 2012

    Bonjour ma chΓ¨re Wanderlustress (what a great moniker) – years and years ago I had given serious consideration to plying my trade (journalism) in South Africa, more precisely Cape Town. I didn’t and have had a nagging regret ever since, no matter how compelling the reasons (political/racism) not to venture forth. If you truly have some inner itch to move on to new personal vistas your fine photo is a splendid come-on. I’ve long dreamed to stand on that point and feel the wind carrying fragrances and secret messages from distant corners of the globe – maybe on my way to Madagascar as a small detour? Le Fabulist

    • Wanderlustress
      May 9, 2012

      Thank you for your very kind words. I am starting to get very excited for our move to Laos!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 9, 2012 by in South Africa and tagged , , , , , , .

Join 3,161 other followers

Blog Stats:

  • 56,110 hits

You can also find me at:

