Wanderlustress

Life in Laos through the lens of a diplomatic wife raising twin toddlers.

Travel Theme: Secret Places

This week, Where’s My Backpack? came up with a very thought provoking travel theme: secret places. I struggled to find a best kept secret of my own to share, but what made it even harder was my mind’s insistence on reinterpreting the theme. It begged me to share the idea of secret places to everyone here who are inspired not only by travel but have a passion for exploration…

The secret places at every new destination of the unknown in which we wanderers find ourselves are those that lure us closer to linger in that doorway and think, ask questions, then step inside despite the uncertainly to seek the answers, to learn the history, to know the culture, to meet the people…to become so amazed at what we find that when standing at the threshold of secret places again the next time, we linger a little less and explore a lot more.

Khiva, Uzbekistan

Old Mesilla, New Mexico

Tulum, Mexico

Cappadocia, Turkey

Follow me on Facebook:
Wanderlustress | Promote Your Page Too

14 comments on “Travel Theme: Secret Places

  1. island traveler
    June 19, 2012

    Love these photos. Makes me feel like I’m in a wonderland of excitement and discovery. My favorite is the last. A smile of someone who enjoys life to the fullest. Inspiring.

    • Wanderlustress
      June 20, 2012

      In that picture my friend and I decided to explore the outskirts of town and there were all these abandoned stone houses and new stone houses that were right next to some pretty ancient ones that were typical of ancient Cappadocia. We kept exploring, got lost, and was rescued by a local farmer who showed us the way back to town. There was just so much to see and find out that we couldn’t help ourselves!

  2. lina
    June 19, 2012

    nice photos – i love it

  3. canoe & communications
    June 19, 2012

    the doorways are like metaphors for travellers, really nice photos

  4. Lindsay Carreiro
    June 18, 2012

    Old Mesilla, New Mexico looks beautiful!

    • Wanderlustress
      June 19, 2012

      It was a quiet sleepy town when we went (but it might have been bc it was early in the day and we didn’t stay long bc of the kids). I might just do a post on it and share more pictures since you’ve inspired me. Thanks!

  5. miojocamara
    June 18, 2012

    Thanks for bringing the world in photos and also in very talented commentaries. Have a hug.

    • Wanderlustress
      June 18, 2012

      Thank you for such kind and supportive words. I hope you’re having a great day!

  6. travelladywithbaby
    June 18, 2012

    I love your interpretation. I find it fascinating that all are from different regions, and yet, the natural beauty of them all makes me realize how connected we all are.

    • Wanderlustress
      June 20, 2012

      That is one of the true beauties of travel. No matter how different we all think we are, we are all connected in a way that is very much the same.

  7. ailsapm
    June 18, 2012

    I love this interpretation of secret places, Wanderlustress, and such a beautiful collection of photos from all around the world. Really lovely post.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 18, 2012 by in Mexico, Turkey, USA, Uzbekistan, Weekly Photo Challenge and tagged , .

Join 3,162 other followers

Blog Stats:

  • 55,785 hits

Join me on Facebook:

You can also find me at:

