Wanderlustress

Life in Laos through the lens of a diplomatic wife raising twin toddlers.

Home is…

It’s no surprise that a return to our home in Denver prior to moving to Laos for 2 years would stir up some deep emotions and thoughts about that place we all call “home”.

In our parting and distance from home is when we find it’s meaning.

For me, home is not Thailand where I was born or New Jersey where I grew up and where my mother and brother and sister live. It’s not New York City or Singapore where I’ve spent the most number of consecutive years, or the place where I have the most friends among those who live in 20+ various countries.

I “built” my home late in life, in my late-30’s, after marriage, after two international moves with my new husband, after intense personal trauma overseas that forced us to realize we needed to own a roof over our heads whether we will always be under it or not.

View of the Gore Range in the Rocky Mountains of Colorado from where we got married.

So we decided to make a home in a city that has roots of my husband’s birthplace, his childhood friends, and proximity to his family. The love he has for his hometown was an infectious and convincing starting point for me. Then the nature, wide open spaces, the beauty of the mountains did not take long to grow on me like an addiction always calling me back after being away for too long.

I’ve come to love our home more than anywhere I have ever lived before in my whole life. I can’t pin down the exact object of that intense love except to list all the things combined to make it so:

A house we instantaneously fell in love with

A neighborhood of old and new friends

Friends who welcome us back each and every time we return

Where we soothed our sad souls during tough times

Where we’ve celebrated so much joy

Where we brought our babies home from the hospital

Where family unite and friends gather

Where we dream about the future and create lasting memories

Where we decided to grow old together

Where our hearts lie no matter where we are

Left: In front of our house the day before I gave birth.
Right: Almost two years later.

Some down time at home a week ago.

Follow me on Facebook:
Wanderlustress | Promote Your Page Too

11 comments on “Home is…

  1. shras789
    August 15, 2012

    Yes they are beautiful and big to.

  2. allthingsboys
    July 24, 2012

    So cute! They are getting so big! I’ve missed your blog, as I have been a little overwhelmed of late. I am going to catch up this evening!

  3. Bams Triwoko
    July 19, 2012

    Love this post… 🙂

  4. Dani
    July 17, 2012

    I love this post, it’s beautiful! Chris and I are still trying to figure out where to make “home” in the U.S. D.C. is as close as it gets for us right now but with family scattered all over the world and friends always coming and going, reading your post makes me wish we had a more permanent-feeling place to put down roots. Oh well! We’ll see. In any case, Colorado sounds perfect for you guys!

    • Wanderlustress
      July 17, 2012

      You will know it when you find it or when the timing is right. And I just thanked Ana for her tag line “Home is where the empty suitcase is…” So important to also remember that home is also wherever we’re together 😉

  5. Tricia A. Mitchell
    July 17, 2012

    I love how you paired the snowy scene pre-babies next to the one of them running in warmer weather. Hope your move to Vientiane is smooth! I really miss Laos…

  6. Robin Jean Marie
    July 17, 2012

    It’s so important to have some stability–for ourselves and for our children. How wonderful that you have such a special home to go back to.
    A lovely post.

  7. fotograffer
    July 17, 2012

    Nice, very nice.

  8. Ana Gaby
    July 17, 2012

    Beautiful post! It looks like this is the place where old memories have been made, new memories keep emerging and all memories will endure forever.

    • Wanderlustress
      July 17, 2012

      Ana, I love your tag line “Home is where the empty suitcase is…” It is perfect for when I miss our home in Denver and reminds me that home is also where we’re together.

      • Ana Gaby
        July 18, 2012

        After moving from hotel to hotel and never living in the house we own, I’ve come to realize that as long as we are together we are home… Enjoy the last few weeks in the US!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 16, 2012 by in USA and tagged , , , , , , , .

Join 3,161 other followers

Blog Stats:

  • 56,110 hits

You can also find me at:

