Wanderlustress

Life in Laos through the lens of a diplomatic wife raising twin toddlers.

A Morning Walk at Pha That Luang

Someone had told me about an organic produce market across the street from Pha That Luang every Saturday and Wednesday mornings from 8am-12pm and I was determined to check it out, rain or shine. My 1/2 days free after dropping off two screaming kids at school have tended to be shackled by household staff training and unpacking and sorting and planning meals I don’t yet know how to make from the available produce and local ingredients – none of which involves pampering at a local spa, yet.

So the rain this morning did not stop me from walking through the market and talking to vegetable vendors, trying to get them to smile in the pictures I attempted to take, and buying a chunk of pumpkin, a papaya, some local honey, and a pork dish wrapped in banana leaf that I will admit I fear eating because I’m not yet ready for street food ‘syndrome’. Then I turned towards Pha That Luang, with it’s golden stupa urging me to enjoy the tranquility afforded by the early morning hour combined with a cool light rain, and I obeyed…

Follow me on Facebook:
Wanderlustress | Promote Your Page Too

6 comments on “A Morning Walk at Pha That Luang

  1. Ewa
    August 23, 2012

    Beautiful photos. And I miss Asia so much, nice to memorize a little bit 🙂

  2. shras789
    August 13, 2012

    Oh my god, it is amazing. I love the shots, it looks beautiful there

  3. travelerlynne
    August 8, 2012

    Love the photos…rainy morning. One day at a time,,,the only advice I have.
    And, yes, you’ll make it to the spa.

    • Wanderlustress
      August 9, 2012

      I surprised myself that I don’t even want to go to a spa now bc I feel to restless so sit still enough to enjoy it, with so many things to do and get settled for the family. I guess it will be a good sign once I can relax enough for good rub down 😉

  4. Dani
    August 8, 2012

    Beautiful!! And an organic market! Wow! I’m dreading those first few weeks of trying to get things unpacked and organized, get a household staff trained and all with a clingy, totally-weirded-out Will on my hip. If you have any good tips, would love to hear them! 🙂

    • Wanderlustress
      August 9, 2012

      It was lucky and unfortunate at the same time that our HHE from Mexico and our UAB from DC arrived right after we got here. It meant no down time from the packing and unpacking from pack-out and vacation, but then again, it was nice to reunite the kids with some of their old toys for much needed distraction.

      The only advice I have, if you are going to hire help right away (or already have) is that you prepare, in writing or in your mind, a local language check-list of the things most important to you for them to help you with right away, or the hiring terms for your interview. I found it really hard to think straight even in English when I’m jet-lagged never mind trying to interview, hire household help with the understanding that it’s a 1-month trial, and get them started all in Lao. On top of that, the kids still do not like it when I speak Lao and get angry (presumably bc they do not understand and are upset from one more strange thing for them). So even though I have two ppl in my house helping me all day, it has been exhausting and frustrating for all of us! Just have to bear through it until we all settle into a comfortable zone (and then it will be time for packout again!!!). Good luck!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 8, 2012 by in Laos and tagged , , , , .

Join 3,160 other followers

Blog Stats:

  • 56,634 hits

You can also find me at:

