Wanderlustress

Life in Laos through the lens of a diplomatic wife raising twin toddlers.

A Tropical Garden

One of the joys of living in a lush tropical region is having a garden with exotic flowers and plants all year round. We don’t have much green space around our house, but we are fortunate that the few plants which we do have yield some gorgeous blooms, and even one edible. I visited a plant nursery today to scout out some new additions for greening up our space some more in the coming weeks. For now though, we are enjoying these beauties below. We also have a second floor balcony out back that is begging for someone with a green thumb (not me) to do some container gardening – so much potential for someone (me) with so little talent but I’ll give it a good try.

The beauty around our current yard.

A tiny little papaya tree with a lot of hope for some fruit from that first little flower.

At first, I thought it was just another plant in our back yard. Turns out to be a whole trove of galangal! If you don’t know what it is I’m sure you know it’s aroma and taste in Thai soups such as Tom Yum Goong and Tom Kha Gai. It’s a bulb-like root that you just dig out of the ground.

I see tomatoes, herbs, and lots of orchids in the shaded areas. What would you plant here?

Follow me on Facebook:
Wanderlustress | Promote Your Page Too

6 comments on “A Tropical Garden

  1. allthingsboys
    November 20, 2012

    If somebody could tend them for me, I’d plant whatever I could. If not, they would end up dead. I have a black thumb no matter what I do!

  2. fotograffer
    August 18, 2012

    Beautiful garden and great photos. I know you will enjoy it. Reminds me of what we have in our SW Florida garden:
    http://ronmayhewphotography.wordpress.com/2012/07/30/travel-theme-flowers-2/

  3. Dani
    August 17, 2012

    oooh! galangal! I spent so long trying to find that (and lemongrass–loooong search for lemongrass) in Chengdu. So nice to have some at home! We’ll have to compare garden notes. We’ve had about 5 different gardeners come by to offer their services. Hoping one of them works out and we can have a pretty (and first!) yard for the first time since we’ve been married!

  4. Tricia A. Mitchell
    August 17, 2012

    Glad to see you’ve made it to Vientiane safe and sound! Have you already ventured out to the Buddha Park? When we were there a few months ago, we noted how many little ones seemed to enjoy it so. Enjoy!

  5. ladyofthezoos
    August 17, 2012

    Love the flowers!

  6. travelerlynne
    August 17, 2012

    What a nice area for containers. With some local advice you will figure out what will grow best there. I do see orchids and herbs (Thai Basil). I’m envious of your galangal, similar to my ginger. Good luck with your project.Let us see your results.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 17, 2012 by in Laos and tagged , , , , .

Join 3,161 other followers

Blog Stats:

  • 56,110 hits

You can also find me at:

