Wanderlustress

Life in Laos through the lens of a diplomatic wife raising twin toddlers.

Japanese-Lao Fusion in Vientiane

When compared to a vacation abroad, settling in and living in a foreign country for two years sounds like a long time. It is. And it isn’t – real life stuff tends to take over that I’ve-got-to-see-everything-in-two-weeks motivation of a vacation, and the longer we postpone playing “tourist” the less likely we would take the time to explore in order to take it all in. One gets busy in the demanding rhythm of day-to-day life and we easily become entrenched in our comfort zone of sticking with the familiar. And when more and more things become familiar, the more we take it for granted, no longer seeing it’s novelty with fresh eyes or interest.

So I’ve been playing tourist a bit more lately, but not to the obvious sights and guidebook recommendations. Part of the beauty of making local friends is getting local knowledge about some of the best kept secrets around, and of course I want to share them with you.

The Little House Cafe – Vientiane, Laos

One of those places is “The Little House Cafe” on Mathatourath Street between Fa Ngum and Setthathirath Streets near Wat Xienghuen. It is literally a little house that sits back off the street behind a white picket fence. If you didn’t know what it was, you would not wander in. I introduced it to a friend who first came to live in Vientiane in 1995 and is back here again after intermittent years in other parts of Southeast Asia, and she had never been to this cafe despite walking passed it many times before. And maybe that’s the way the proprietor wants it to be.

Japanese-Lao fusion, so cool.

The Little House Cafe is a low-key, unassuming, oasis of Japanese-Lao fusion where the staff sits on little bamboo chairs patiently sifting through coffee beans by hand before roasting them in a back room. Every order is freshly ground and carefully prepared. There is no take out orders. The menu is modest with a few baked goods and green tea in addition to the house roasted coffee. They also sell lovely Lao silk and cotton textiles made with designs and color combinations that, like the rest of the cafe, ring of Japanese influence. Makes me wonder if the proprietor works with the producers to specifically design these particular ones. I’ll have to ask her next time, although she seems like an incredibly private person.

Hand picked with care.

Rustic yet modern.

The ambiance of the cafe is calm and relaxing in that way that the Japanese do so well with lighting and placement of objects that is pleasing and alluring. The interior is a unique mix of Lao rustic with Japanese orderliness. There is something about this that made me want to take pictures of everything, but I couldn’t because the owner didn’t want me to. I could only sneak in a few shots here and there when no one was looking. Here are the rest…

Iced green tea and warm scones with honey.

I loved the lines, the simplicity, and the lighting.

Tempting displays of silk scarfs.

And cotton linens.

I’m not a scarf person but I think I’m going back to get this one.

My friend snagged this one and the gorgeous grey/black one above it.

I did by these cute coasters made by a hill tribe.

View of coaster design through a water glass.

I wanted to take pictures of everything here, even this bag of coffee beans in the bathroom ;D

 

Follow me on Facebook:
Wanderlustress | Promote Your Page Too

6 comments on “Japanese-Lao Fusion in Vientiane

  1. eastwitching
    October 7, 2012

    The sight of banana leaves gets me reaching for my paint brush and pencils – lovely post showing us authentic living in this country – thanks!

  2. thehealthyglobetrotter
    September 24, 2012

    This place looks gorgeous! I’ve just written a post on living abroad myself, though from an entirely different perspective. Thanks for sharing!

  3. Ewa
    September 24, 2012

    Beautiful photos!

  4. Dani
    September 23, 2012

    how cool! These sorts of places are always the best and they are always so much better than anything you can find in the CLO handbook. You are so brave for taking hte photos, I would have been so nervous! Looks like a beautiful place though!

    • Wanderlustress
      September 23, 2012

      I WAS so nervous which is why some of my shots are from a weird angle taken from where I was sitting. And when I got bold enough I was shaking and in such a rush that I dropped the camera!

  5. green tea with warm scones!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 22, 2012 by in Laos and tagged , , , , , , , .

Join 3,160 other followers

Blog Stats:

  • 57,160 hits

You can also find me at:

