Wanderlustress

Life in Laos through the lens of a diplomatic wife raising twin toddlers.

Additions to the Garden

As a follow up to my previous post about having a tropical garden already in place and beautiful when we arrived in Vientiane, I’ve been adding a few more plants and flowers here and there to put my own stamp on our home. Now that I’ve moved on from last month’s plant buying frenzy and on to finding work, I thought I’d take the time now to show you some beauties. Some are working out and some aren’t, but they all add to this space we are calling home.

And for me personally, it was part of the settling in process which I could have never predicted since at each new home that process can be anything from painting walls, to slip-covering, to new curtains, to hanging pictures, to collecting souvenirs, or gardening. Whatever it is, all of us settling into new homes overseas indulge, settle in, and move on. As trivial as it all may sound, it’s part of the process and we all need to do it.

My favorite so far are these two banana leaf-like palms. I was so lucky to find two of equal fullness and height.

A pair of these stunning orchids in full bloom were wonderful. Really, they’re not plastic!

This one is so unique, and fun for me to see in our ceramics from our last post in Mexico.

Greening up this wall means our view from inside the house is much more pleasant than staring at stark white cement.

This hot white wall at the front of the house will, hopefully, be filled with fragrant jasmine in a few months.

I had great hopes for these gorgeous lotus water plants but gave them up because of mosquito-breeding standing water and too much maintenance to make a fish pond (to eat the mosquito eggs). Still, I see them around everywhere and they are just gorgeous.

Happy to report that my hibiscus plant never fails to please with it’s constant blooms.

Follow me on Facebook:
Wanderlustress | Promote Your Page Too

6 comments on “Additions to the Garden

  1. midnightvisitorm
    September 28, 2012

    Nice work!The purple flowers are stunning.

  2. Playamart - Zeebra Designs
    September 27, 2012

    beautiful! i’m sure you know that you can enjoy the beauty of the hibiscus in the daytime and retrieve them at the end of the day for a great infusion tea!

  3. Dani
    September 24, 2012

    those orchids!! and the hibiscus!! I’m still looking for me one tall but skinny indoor palm and then the settling in process will be complete! (now if only the job were so easy!)

    • Wanderlustress
      September 26, 2012

      Ugh, the job effort is like taking one step forward and three steps back (obviously I just had some setbacks). Need my motivation back for the next push. Good luck with yours!

  4. travelladywithbaby
    September 24, 2012

    Gorgeous, I love the fragrance of tropical gardens.

  5. meanwhilein3
    September 24, 2012

    Great placement of the palms on the front porch!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 24, 2012 by in Laos and tagged , , , , , .

Join 3,162 other followers

Blog Stats:

  • 55,785 hits

Join me on Facebook:

You can also find me at:

