Wanderlustress

Life in Laos through the lens of a diplomatic wife raising twin toddlers.

Past Weeks in Pictures

I am either at a loss for words, busy, tired, slightly depressed or a combination of all the above. Before this slump set in, I was going great guns making friends, going out, exploring the town, pursuing jobs and was really enjoying the starting-to-feel-settled euphoria. And then came a job set-back, M came down with fever and cough, my own tummy troubles, school road construction chaos, potty-training demands, and poof! went the euphoria along with any desire to write about any of it. Good news is there are other job pursuits still in the works, M is feeling better, potty training was a success. Other things still annoy and frustrate but I’m trying hard to get out of the funk. I know I can do it but maybe I just have to come to terms with the occasional living-overseas-slump and go along with it. Just soothe myself in ways that I can and wait it out.

In the mean time, there are always pictures to show you…

(Now that our final shipment arrived and I’m back on my Mac am I realizing how over-saturated some of the photos edited on my laptop are. I really dislike over-saturated photos!)

A little sick girl’s pout.

Sick girl on day two feeling better with a haircut.

The twice a day headache of walking along the road construction to school (imagine the mud when it rains).

Entrance to the school, not only annoying but dangerous.

How lucky that we get to luxuriate at this pool every weekend.

Sibling love at our favorite cafe.

A visit to the Lao National School of Music and Dance to coordinate a toddler classical dance class.

Traditional Lao musical instruments.

Follow me on Facebook:
Wanderlustress | Promote Your Page Too

10 comments on “Past Weeks in Pictures

  1. Imelda
    October 4, 2012

    I h ope everyone is feeling better. šŸ™‚
    That road is annoying indeed. The memories of child me plodding through thick sticky mud on the way home are still fresh in my mind. Oh boy! mud was not pleasant.

    • Wanderlustress
      October 4, 2012

      M is better but this week O is down with a slight fever, nothing serious and should be back in school tomorrow. With rain forecast for the next few days, we will be wearing boots again. Although the kids don’t seem to mind as much as I do but at the same time, I love how the rain cools everything off so nicely and M actually looking forward to it.

  2. PoisonIB
    October 4, 2012

    I totally get the Funk thing. It’s a horrible feeling but as time passes it will get better!
    Love the photos!

  3. miojocamara
    October 4, 2012

    A set of touching photos. Thanks a lot.

  4. Dani
    October 3, 2012

    love the picture of the kids together, that is just gorgeous!!! And I totally hear you on the over-saturated pictures thing and the missing your mac thing (I practically pet my big beautiful desktop before bed every night). Oh and did I mention the slump thing? Uh yes! Between the husband working 12 hour days, toddlerhood and the fact that this seems to be a kind of no-kids-allowed social scene, we’ve been having a rough few weeks ourselves. Grrr. Still, as I was saying to Chris the other night, us spouses have it so, so much harder in the beginning but in the end we always seem to end up with the richer experiences. Small consolation right now, though. Good luck with the job thing! That is always the most absolute most frustrating part. I’ve got my fingers crossed for you!

    • Wanderlustress
      October 4, 2012

      I love that one, too. Definitely would like to get a canvas of it although I need to lighten up O’s eyes more before I do. About your social scene, the no-kids thing can be really fun once you have help that you trust to babysit. Any leads? In the mean time though, hope there playgroups and other kids at the pool he enjoys and that you can socialize with other parents. I am working up to having my housekeeper babysit…always so nervous about other ppl putting our two to bed. And yes, I see the envy in G’s eyes when I tell him my woes and my options of getting out of my funk which make me sound like the most spoiled wife on earth. Over two years, I know I will have seen and done more than possible for him. Ahhh, the grass…

  5. travelladywithbaby
    October 3, 2012

    Big hugs! Things will get better, the funk, oh goodness – keep breathing! The pictures are beautiful, For some reason my camera and our Mac do not get along. I have to get a new one, that over saturation happens every time!

    • Wanderlustress
      October 4, 2012

      Thanks for the hugs! I’m guilty of over editing sometimes so it’s my fault. But the screen on my laptop isn’t as bright so I couldn’t gauge the true color. Will have to use more manual settings but need the time to learn first. Where does all the time go?!

  6. wandermama
    October 3, 2012

    Hey lady! Gorgeous pics. The funk thing happens to me every time we move someplace new. Is there a movie theater there? If not take a little trip across the border to Nong Khai and onwards to Udon Thani. There is a mall there with movies in English. I remember watching such cinematic gems as “I Robot” there. Any port in a homesick storm. There are nice hotels there too. Maybe you just need a little break from trying to immerse. You’ll be back to yourself soon. Hang in, K

    • Wanderlustress
      October 4, 2012

      You’re right. I do need a little escape but we don’t have our car yet which is part of my frustrations. I’ve reached the limit of not being able to spontaneously go out and do something without planning every stop or timing when I’m out. One or two more weeks though. I hope. Thanks for shoring me up!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 3, 2012 by in Laos and tagged , .

Join 3,161 other followers

Blog Stats:

  • 56,110 hits

You can also find me at:

