Wanderlustress

Life in Laos through the lens of a diplomatic wife raising twin toddlers.

Rest.Home.Family

Rest.

Is there such a thing as too much travel? Add “…with kids?” and all parents will certainly agree with me when I say “yes”. Three wonderful, memorable and fun trips within one month: Luang Prabang, Vang Vieng, Hanoi. Yes.

Will we do it again? Probably. But for now, we are enjoying home…at least for a few weeks before we head to Bali for Christmas. See? We can’t help it.

DSC01193

Home.

It took me way too long to have cut flowers in the house again and to have the furniture arranged in a way that is cozy instead of how they were placed here for us – a luxury, I know, to live in furnished homes, and yet it can be a curse because it lacks that personal element and history of selection that comes with making it ‘our’ home. But I’m slowly learning how to make that happen in simple ways so that it’s replicable in each new place: photographs grouped in the same pattern on the wall, the same table arrangement with photos (above) that was in Mexico, now Laos, and will be in the next house in the next country.

During all of the planning, packing, moving and transitioning I didn’t think these little material things would matter but I’m finding that they do. They are making our home more and more homy as I finally get around to doing some interior decorating.

Family.

How I love my family. At times like these recent weeks when I’m exhausted, sick, and feeling slightly blue, the three of them help to bring me back to all that’s good and light and loving. And to think that I’m the one taking care of them

DSC01189-001

Follow me on Facebook:
Wanderlustress | Promote Your Page Too

3 comments on “Rest.Home.Family

  1. Dani
    December 9, 2012

    I totally do the same thing with the arranging things in a smilar way in each house. This time all of hte furniture is in different places because we have more space, but the same stuff ends up in the same cabinets and the same pictures get prominence, etc, etc. Hope ou guys are having a relaxing weekend!

    • Wanderlustress
      December 9, 2012

      This is our second weekend in a row with no big plans so it IS very relaxing, thanks! And the weather is finally starting to get slightly cooler so it’s nice to get a break from the heat and constant air conditioning. We did have a small simple pancake brunch today, no where near your party for 30, but I did at least make homemade blueberry sauce for the first time, so easy and yummy.

  2. tashastraveltroves
    December 5, 2012

    Home is always a luxury ! No matter where you have travelled to ! The art of home luxury is a very fine art indeed !

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 5, 2012 by in Laos and tagged , , , .

Join 3,160 other followers

Blog Stats:

  • 56,466 hits

You can also find me at:

