Wanderlustress

Life in Laos through the lens of a diplomatic wife raising twin toddlers.

What A Clear Day Brings

So this is what healthy feels like! I guess I had resigned myself to a state of feeling bad that it became the standard for normal, but waking up early today with a spring to my step and breezing through the day as if the past month or so of apparent culture shock/homesickness blues was a complete misinterpretation of merely being sick, I had a completely ‘clear’ day. That’s the only way I can describe it. Not just because the sun was out with a cool breeze in the air, which makes this place (or anywhere really) feel perfect, but I just felt clear – in thinking, motivation, and outlook.

Things I hadn’t felt like doing in a long time, I felt today, and I did them. I actually missed my temporarily ignored camera while eating lunch at a delicious duck noodle shop where I want to return and photograph and write about. I responded positively and energetically to a full-time job possibility. I saw things along a much frequented route that I hadn’t noticed before. I made a new friend. I started planning a party for my husband’s entire section, and agreed to have dinner guests on a day’s notice. All with a clear head and heart and desire. Wow, I’ve missed me! I hope it lasts.

My head was so clear I remembered a couple of photos that I took back in November at the annual handicraft festival here in Vientiane that I haven’t posted yet and it made me realize that there is so much to see and learn about in this country that I’d better get out to explore again. Having two visitors next month will be great for doing just that.

And I’ll be sure to tell (and show) you all about those delicious duck noodles soon.

(I got so excited about finding these photos that I quickly posted them on Facebook thinking I didn’t have a post in mind for them, so apologies for the repetition.)

DSC00930

Lao Hmong hill-tribe women making batik at the annual Handicraft Festival. — Vientane.

DSC00929

Lao batik technique.

You can read more about Lao batik at http://www.fibre2fabric.org/exhibitions/hmong.html.

Information about the Vientiane Handicraft Festival can be found here, http://www.laohandicraftassociation.com/wordpress.

Follow me on Facebook:
Wanderlustress | Promote Your Page Too

4 comments on “What A Clear Day Brings

  1. Becky
    January 12, 2013

    Awesome! This post just made me so happy for you. Love you guys!

  2. Dani
    January 11, 2013

    Aww this post makes me so happy! It is amazing how bad weather and poor health can make it so difficult to feel happy and energetic. It’s so good to hear that you’re getting your feet underneath you again and I can’t wait to hear about the job opp and the duck noodle soup and all of your other adventures!

    • Wanderlustress
      January 21, 2013

      Thanks Dani! Still have to get back to the duck noodle place. Got on a roll last week with two job applications and a possible internal lead, fingers crossed. And I have no trips planned yet which feels slightly odd but may indicate that I’m finally ‘settled’. Hope your writing is going well. I’m really enjoying your photos of Old Delhi!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 10, 2013 by in Laos and tagged , , , , , , .

Join 3,161 other followers

Blog Stats:

  • 56,110 hits

You can also find me at:

