Wanderlustress

Life in Laos through the lens of a diplomatic wife raising twin toddlers.

Cuteness Update

With job applications submitted and big loud Lao-style outdoor party thrown, time to catch up here on this blog.

I kind of enjoy the waiting phase of a job search, having fulfilled my responsibility of applying I can relax into other things without the overhanging pang of guilt. This helped to make the party that I stressed over for ten days (according to my husband although I remember only stressing out for only two days prior to the event) a big success. The local staff seem to have really enjoyed themselves and we drank and danced and laughed until late into the night. I hadn’t danced so much or laughed so hard in a very very long time. Apparently, that is the way the Lao party and I like it. Before our party I used to curse our neighbor’s loud music but yesterday I found myself dancing with my kids to the beat of someone else’s party this time, without feeling at all annoyed about it, although I don’t think I’ll feel the same when they break out the karaoke. Oh! Such bad karaoke! For a country with poor quality electronics on the market, everyone seems to still be able to pump up the volume.

There are pictures to come of markets and other sights from around Vientiane in future posts, but I’d like to update our grandmothers, other relatives and friends on the cuteness of our kids over these past weeks since they grow up too fast and you wouldn’t want to miss it!…

The weather has gotten cool enough to play at the usually hot playground near the river.

The weather has gotten cool enough to play at the usually hot playground near the river.

M is excited at all the Tin Tin figurines and murals at a local restaurant.

M is excited at all the Tin Tin figurines and murals at a local restaurant.

DSC01486

Cheering on the players at the annual embassy soccer tournament between Bangkok, Chiang Mai, and Vientiane. And Vientiane won, yay!!!

M gets her first face painting at a birthday party.

M gets her first face painting at a birthday party.

More cuteness from the birthday party!

More cuteness from the birthday party!

Follow me on Facebook:
Wanderlustress | Promote Your Page Too

3 comments on “Cuteness Update

  1. cravesadventure
    January 29, 2013

    The girls are so darling with their faces painted and their wings on:) Great Captures – thanks for sharing! Happy Tuesday

  2. travelerlynne
    January 29, 2013

    That is the most beautiful face painting on a child I have ever seen. Looks like life is definitely getting better and better for you…less stressful. Lovely family update.

  3. Lisaman
    January 29, 2013

    Wow M is cute.. a party and dance certainly revives the spirit!!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 29, 2013 by in Laos and tagged , , , , .

Join 3,160 other followers

Blog Stats:

  • 56,634 hits

You can also find me at:

