Wanderlustress

Life in Laos through the lens of a diplomatic wife raising twin toddlers.

Tour Guide Snapshots

Ten days hosting visitors meant playing tour guide for most of that time and while my guests were either wrangling their children or off in a far corner of a temple, I took the opportunity to snap some new angles of previously visited locales and to shoot the Sisaket museum for the first time. I’m never really sure if my guests are as enthralled about the sites as I hope they would be, but each and every time I play tour guide, I know that I personally find a new appreciation and enthusiasm for living in this amazing city. Enjoy!

Patuxay - Vientian's Arc de Triomphe

Patuxay. Vientian’s Arc de Triomphe

Pha That Luang

Pha That Luang. There are a bunch of artifacts on display that I need to get more information about one day.

Pha That Luang

Pha That Luang. Always makes me sad to see headless and handless Buddha statues.

Pha That Luang

Pha That Luang. Open window inside a large ceremonial hall.

Sisasket Museum

Sisasket Museum. A sense of reverence takes hold when kneeling at the feet of the Buddha.

Sisaket Museum

Sisaket Museum. Tiny alcoves with Buddha miniatures everywhere.

Sisaket Museum

Sisaket Museum. Hundreds if not thousands of Buddha statues. Each of them unique.

Sisaket Museum

Sisaket Museum. This lotus carving was a unique design along the base of the statues.

Sisaket Museum

Sisaket Museum. This explains the figurines in the photo below.

Sisaket Museum

Sisaket Museum. Piled behind a locked wooden gate, these figurines looked imprisoned.

DSC01728

Sisaket Museum. Around the museum grounds.

Follow me on Facebook:
Wanderlustress | Promote Your Page Too

8 comments on “Tour Guide Snapshots

  1. janalinesmalman
    April 7, 2013

    Lovely photos!! Looks like you enjoy living in and experiencing Laos!! i love Asia and hope to visit Laos on my next visit!

  2. Tricia A. Mitchell
    February 26, 2013

    These are stunning images, Dee! We’ve been back from the Laotian leg of our trip for about a year, but your pictures make me long for it again. Particularly love the shot from Pha That Luang. Such an air of mystery!

    • Wanderlustress
      March 1, 2013

      Hi Tricia. Thank you. I followed your blog before we arrived and it made me so excited to come here.

  3. Dani
    February 25, 2013

    I love that shot looking up at the Buddha, simply beautiful! Glad you were able to get these great shots in between all of the tour guide-ing!

    • Wanderlustress
      February 25, 2013

      Thanks Dani, it kept getting better and better as I got lower and lower, and then I realized this would be the view after bringing one’s head to the ground three times in prayer before looking up. Hoping it will come out well in a wrap canvas print.

  4. transplantedtatar
    February 23, 2013

    I know exactly what you mean: I often find myself playing a tour guide–and I love it (and, hopefully, that enjoyment is infectious), but my favorite part is seeing some of the places I thought I knew through and through in a new way, thanks to my visitors or just a fleeting moment of light. The pictures of headless Buddhas do look forlorn. Are they headless/handless because those are the more fragile parts to break off, or was this deliberate?

    • Wanderlustress
      February 25, 2013

      I am not sure about the small figurines but typically the Buddha heads and hands are pillage for sale, which is why I could never buy one as a souvenir, not even a fake one since it would only remind me of the destruction to sacred sites.

      • transplantedtatar
        February 25, 2013

        I had no idea! Good to know… My reaction is the same as yours.

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on February 22, 2013 by in Laos and tagged , , , , , , , , .

Join 3,137 other subscribers

Blog Stats:

  • 61,747 hits

You can also find me at: